Entries in Shannara (10)

Wednesday
Mar062013

Age of the Sigil is Unleashed

Welcome back 711 Press fans. What a great new year 2013 is turning out to be already! This year, a turn of events has led us to release ALL TV books as complete seasons. Now, you, the reader, can own all 13 episodes of any TV book instantly, instead of waiting week after week for the next episode. This saves money and time as our new TV book eBook compilations are now priced at only $2.99 per season as compared to the old model of $0.99 per episode. And at thirteen episodes, that can get as pricey as a full length print novel.

So, to start this new year right, we've simultaneously launched Age of the Sigil Seasons One & Two

These two TV book compilations mark the first half of the Sigil series, an epic YA fantasy adventure which follows four teens (Pim the Knife, Reev Onid, Deloria Kildri, and Estra Dane) as they embark upon a quest across the four quadrants of the continent of Austrand in search of secrets to unlock the powers of the mysterious black Sigil markings that have appeared on their skin; tattoos which have granted them each unique abilities that save their lands from warlocks, monsters, and invisible forces bent on destroying their homelands.

Follow the quest of four teens as they lead you to the wildest places of your imagination, traveling across mountains, through caves, underground, and even beyond the clouds, and you'll discover a world full of dragons, faieries, swords & sorcery in a land as colorfully vivid as The Hobbit, created for lovers of YA fantasy. The Age of the Sigil is upon us, so you better prepare yourself for adventure.

Age of the Sigil was written by Melvyn Riley, one of our latest 711 Press authors. Welcome aboard, Melvyn. 

Friday
Oct262012

King's Vengeance: Legends of the Dread Realm: Chronicles the Second

Ronald Coleborn's epic Dread Realm series continues with book two, King's Vengeance, a story that follows the lives of an exiled queen racing to save her kingdom after the death of her beloved husband, a princess and her grand tutor on the run for their lives, and four warriors (three of them former knights) following different paths. But each of these remarkable people are ultimately brought together by a destiny that is revealed by a young boy who is both blind and deaf, yet gifted with inner sight.

For those of you who yearn for epic fantasy adventures written by greats such as George R.R. Martin, Terry Brooks, and J.R.R. Tolkien, get ready for the next epic fantasy author who weaves engaging tales of war, deceit, despair, and inevitable hope and victory, as told through the inhabitants of the Dread Realm. Learn more, and pick up a copy here.

Wednesday
Aug012012

Knight's Valor On the Way

Hello all, Ronald Coleborn here. This is my first official post on 711 Press and I just wanted to take the time to mention that I have since completed the first book in the Legends of the Dread Realm fantasy saga and have already received the edited manuscript back from Rich Dalglish. It's called Knight's Valor, and the story has been tightened up and the action improved in spots and I feel it reads quite well.

If you are a fan of high fantasy and enjoy unfolding arcs where intrigue and tension increases and characters are flung in separate directions on varying missions and travels before a series of climatic battles ensue, then you'll love this series. The Dread Realm, or Prybbia, is one of the ancient kingdoms, which threatens to usurp its sister realm, Glyssia, and cast an evil shadow over the entire landscape, but there are heroes about who seek to stop the usurpaton: knights and spirit healers given to hidden arts of dark sorcery, and warriors of renown, among others. The first book is a fun ride for all those who plan on taking the plunge, and the extended saga promises to entertain and dazzle for years to come.

Look for the first book, Knight's Valor, Friday, August 31, 2012.

Ronald

Friday
Jul062012

So Long to the 700+ page Novel

 

I've got to say, I grew up on novels pushing over 700 pages, and in the past felt cheated if a book by a wordy author fell short of that mark. Take Terry Brooks for instance, author of Sword of Shannara. I've read the entire Shannara line including the Word & Void series, which had nothing to do directly with the Shannara name other than it showed how the world of Shannara eventually came to be. I remember reading through books like Sword and Elfstones and loving that it took me days, sometimes weeks to read them. And though I am sure many of his titles fell below 500 words, I was never so disappointed with page count until I read First King of Shannara, which was still nearly 500 pages. First King somehow felt short, much shorter than his 700+ page Sword epic which started the entire series. To me, it read like it barely made it past 200 pages. Years later, I understand why I felt this way.

Terry Brooks has a way of making long novels feel like short novels, allowing you to become lost in the wording and make you feel as if you're part of the Shannara world. So, I am sorry Terry for whining about First King seeming so short. Especially now that Daniel and I have started 711 Press.

Except for Terry Brooks and a select few others such as Cinda Williams Chima, I am now hooked on quick read books, or novellas if you wish to call them that. The 711 Press formula has been crafted over the past four years to unveil to our authors a very concise way to cut down novels that could take 500 pages to tell a story to as little as 1/5 the page count. "Why would someone ever do that?" you ask. "Why would an author cheat me out of 300-400 pages?" The better question is, "Why don't authors take time to craft their stories, editing and removing the fodder to turn each book into a quick, easily digestable tale of excitement that could be read in hours instead of days?"

After reading movie books by Jami Lynn Saunders, Roger Vallon, and Drusilla Winters, to name a few, I've completely changed my reading mindset. I welcome the short book and cannot fathom the thought of spending 19 hours reading a book from my favorite author when I could digest a book of equal peril and adventure in 1.9 hours. So, 711 it is for me. With that said, Terry, Cinda, I still love you guys and your books do read quicker than other long-winded authors. So, I will continue reading your books, but it won't hurt my feelings if you weed out a few hundred pages, get right to the action and allow me to read your novels in one night ;)

Monday
Feb132012

Age of the Sigil Episode Seven Out Today

Age of the Sigil is back with Episode Seven: Desert Swamps of Dank'La. This YA Fantasy/TV series consisting of 13 episodes per season, is for fans of authors such as JRR Tolkien, Terry Brooks, Riley Carney, Cinda Williams Chima, Christopher Paolini, and Terry Goodkind.

In this seventh installment of Sigil Season One, Reev, Pim, Estra, and Frey'er search for the ancient witch who stole their friend and fellow bearer, Deloria Kildri, from them during their battle aboard the pirate ship off the coast of Kavers Bay. But to find the only woman who knows the Vasserine's whereabouts, they must venture into the dreaded desert swamps of Dank'la. Will they find the answers they seek, or will the magic bindings of the desert hold them captive forever? Find out in episode seven!

If dragons, swords, and sorcerers is the fiction of your choice, Age of the Sigil will fill your mind with fantasy. Get your Kindle copy here.
__________________

This TV series is the brainchild of 711 Press co-founders Daniel Middleton and Jaime Vendera, but stalwarts Ronald Coleborn and Melvyn Riley helped to fashion the world you experience in this vast series. It is produced by Jaime Vendera and written by Melvyn Riley. Literary veteran Rich Dalglish is the editor.

Monday
Feb062012

Age of the Sigil Episode Six Out Today

Age of the Sigil is back with Episode Six: Kavers Bay. This YA Fantasy/TV series consisting of 13 episodes per season, is for fans of authors such as JRR Tolkien, Terry Brooks, Riley Carney, Cinda Williams Chima, Christopher Paolini, and Terry Goodkind.

In this sixth installment of Sigil Season One, the bearers head to the southern shores of West Asprus, drawn to a fishing town called Kavers Bay. Along the way, Deloria discovers that pirates are illegally killing dolphenes to sell their skins to the wizards of the Southeland Annex. With only one thing left to do, the bearers devise a plan to end the tyranny of the pirates forever.

If dragons, swords, and sorcerers is the fiction of your choice, Age of the Sigil will fill your mind with fantasy. Get your Kindle copy here.
__________________

This TV series is the brainchild of 711 Press co-founders Daniel Middleton and Jaime Vendera, but stalwarts Ronald Coleborn and Melvyn Riley helped to fashion the world you experience in this vast series. It is produced by Jaime Vendera and written by Melvyn Riley. Literary veteran Rich Dalglish is the editor.

Monday
Jan232012

Age of the Sigil Episode Four Out Today

If you're new to 711press.com, you are in for a treat with the latrest TV book series, Age of the Sigil! For those of you who love books by authors such as J.R.R Tolkien, Terry Brooks, Cinda Williams Chima, Terry Goodkind, R.A. Salvatore and Christopher Paolini, Age of the Sigil is your newest quest. Sigil is one hot, suspenseful YA Fantasy/TV series consisting of 13 books per season. Episode four: Paysley Dawn hits the Kindle stands today.

In this fourth installment of Sigil Season One, the bearers head north to the mountainside town of Paysley Dawn, where they soon learn that the town's water source is being polluted by a man-eating monster. Discovering that the monster has something to do with their next quest, the four bearers scour the town to learn the truth about the creature. However, before they can find the beast's hiding place, the bearers land in jail, putting their search and destroy mission on hold.

Get ready for the ride of your life that includes dragons, wizards, warriors, and magical weapons in the ultimate battle between good and evil. Learn more about Age of the Sigil and get your Kindle copy here.
__________________

This TV series is the brainchild of 711 Press co-founders Daniel Middleton and Jaime Vendera, but stalwarts Ronald Coleborn and Melvyn Riley helped to fashion the world you experience in this vast series. It is produced by Jaime Vendera and written by Melvyn Riley. Literary veteran Rich Dalglish is the editor.